NRA 2013 National Training Conference – Events

 and Entertainment

Screen Shot 2012-12-20 at 6.23.01 PM        Image of two ticket stubs.        Drawn image of the brooklyn swoosh logo blue on white.

For more info contact Conference Entertainment Coordinator:

Deni V. Fraser, M.S.Ed., CRC, NYCSC at email: [email protected]

 

NRA 2013 Key to New York City

Fun things to do within a 5-10 mile radius of our conference!

imgres

 Adventure

The Beast (thrill boat ride: very fast): www.cirleline42.com

Water Taxi (yellow taxi: Hudson River): www.nywatertaxi.com

Helicopter Tours (the best aircraft): www.heliny.com

Helicopter Tours: www.libertyhelicopters.com

Broadway Shows

for discounted shows up to 50% off: www.goldstar.com

regular priced shows: www.ticketmaster.com

get up to 50% off any show the day of TKTS discount booth-47th & bdway

Casino

Resorts World Casino NYC: www.rwnewyork.com

Comedy

The PIT (free Monday improv shows):  www.thepit-nyc.com

Gotham Comedy Club: www.gothamcomedyclub.com

Carolines: www.carolines.com

Comedy Cellar: www.comedycellar.com

Stand Up NY: www.standupny.com

Concerts

Barclays Center:  www.barclayscenter.com

Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM): www.bam.org

Madison Square Garden: www.thegarden.com

Radio City Music Hall: www.radiocity.com

Beacon Theatre: www.beacontheatre.com

Apollo Theater: www.apollotheater.org

Cruises

Circle-line Sightseeing Cruise:  www.circleline42.com

Spirit Cruise: www.spiritcruises.com

Harbor Cruise:  www.statuecruises.com

Bateaux (upscale):  www.bateauxnewyork.com

LGBT friendly

LIPS (dinner & drag show): www.lipsnyc.com

Lucky Cheng’s (drag cabaret restaurant): www.luckychengsnyc.com

Movies (www.fandango.com)

UA Court Street Stadium 12 & RPX: 106 Court St., Brooklyn NY

Landmark Sunshine Cinema: 143 E. Houston St., New York NY

Regal Union Square Theater: 100 E. 17th St. New York, NY

AMC Loews 34th Street: 312 W. 34th St. New York, NY

Clearview Cinema Chelsea: 260 W. 23rd St., New York NY

AMC Theatres Empire 25: 234 W. 42nd St., New York NY

Museums

Madame Tussauds (wax museum): www.madametussauds.com

Ripley’s Believe It or Not!:  www.RipleysNewYork.com

Times Square Museum (FREE)www.timessquarenyc.org

American Museum of Natural History: www.amnh.org

Museum of Sex:  www.museumofsex.com

Brooklyn Museum:  www.brooklynmuseum.org

Guggenheim Museum: www.guggenheim.org

Museum of Modern Art:  www.moma.org

Metropolitan Museum of Art: www.metmuseum.org

Restaurants (the NRA NY Metro Chapter Favorites!)

Deni       Pio Pio: 604 10th avenue betw. 43rd&44th, Peruvian Cuisine, casual&affordable

Caroline   Becco’s: 355 west 46th St., Lida’s Famous Food Network restaurant, casual

Pat         Henry’s End: 44 Henry St., Seasonal Menu and near the BK bridge

Deni       Melba’s: 33 west 114th & 8th ave, American Comfort/Soul Food, casual

Val        Victor’s: 236 west 52nd St., Cuban Cuisine in the times square area

Obie       La Mirabelle: 102 west 82nd St., French Cuisine, upscale casual & rsvp required

Pat         Almar: 111 Front St., Italian Cuisine, affordable and near the BK bridge

Cheryl     Tomo: 89-14 Queens Blvd., Japanese Cuisine, sushi bar, casual

Shopping Areas (right off the subway/train line)

Atlantic Mall (atlantic avenue): Brooklyn

Fulton Mall (fulton street): Brooklyn

Manhattan Mall & 34th Street (penn station): Manhattan

42nd Street (times square): Manhattan

125th Street (Harlem): Manhattan

Singing

Village Underground (Open Mic/Live Music): www.thevillageunderground.com

Karaoke Cave (karaoke bar): www.karaokecave.com

NEMO NYC (karaoke lounge): www.nemonyc.com

Spiritual

Harlem Gospel Tour (church service included):  www.harlemspirituals.com

Gospel Brunch w/ Concert (@BB Kings on 42nd):  www.harlemgospelchoir.com

Sports Stadiums

Yankee Stadium (Yankees): www.newyork.yankees.mlb.com

M.S.G. (Knicks, Rangers, NY Liberty): www.thegarden.com

Izod Center (Nets): www.izodcenter.com

Met Life Stadium (Giants): www.metlifestadium.com

Citi Field (Mets): www.citifieldstadiumtours.com

Top 3 NYC tourist spots

Empire State Building (daily until 2am): www.esbnyc.com

Statue of Liberty (tour by cruise): www.statuecruises.com

9/11 Memorial *must reserve FREE visitor pass @ www.911memorial.org

Tours: ALL FREE

(for info/rsvp -> www.about.com & enter Free New York City Walking Tours)

The Grand Central Neighborhood Tour

Tours of the High Line

Big Apple Greeter Tours

Free Tours by Foot

Central Park Conservancy Guided Tours

Greenwich Village Walking Tour

Free Lower East Side Historic Tours

Times Square Expose’ Free Walking Tour

Zoos

Prospect Park Zoo (Brooklyn)                     www.prospectparkzoo.com

Central Park Zoo (Manhattan)                   www.centralpakzoo.com

Bronx Zoo (The Bronx)                                 www.bronxzoo.com

Photo of the new york city skyline from above showing empire state building lit up in white taken at dusk.

For more info contact:

Deni V. Fraser, M.S.Ed., CRC, NYCSC at email:[email protected]

 

 

Image of the back to conference home page blue button. 

MOCD_Layout     High Res Logo w Slogan

 

 

 

Image of an orange box with an arrow pointing down with the text want your logo here? Click for more info.

Conference Exhibitors, Advertisers and Sponsors

 

 

 

 

Image of the powered by nyceda logo black, blue on white.